home/parts/Motherboards/ASUS ROG Maximus Z690 Apex
/ motherboard · ASUS
LGA1700 600/700-series · 2022

ASUS ROG Maximus Z690 Apex

ATX Z690 board for LGA1700 CPUs, DDR5 memory, BIOS Flashback included.

Socket
LGA1700
Chipset
Z690
Form Factor
ATX
Memory
DDR5-64002 slots, max 96GB
M.2 / SATA
2 / 6
BIOS Flashback
Yes
> getpc engine · 44 checksrun on your build
LGA1700 socket - the engine rejects boards that cannot take it
The last three need your other parts.Build around this part →
Check it against your build44 CHECKS · FREE · NO LOGINAdd →
India context

The ASUS ROG Maximus Z690 Apex (₹80,000-86,000) is a purpose-built extreme overclocking board, not a general-purpose flagship. Two onboard M.2 sockets, plus two on the ROG DIMM.2 module and one on the PCIe 5.0 M.2 card: five total with the supplied expansion hardware. The Gen5 card reduces the primary GPU slot to x8.

Official India stock. Full warranty through the brand's India service network, standard RMA if anything goes wrong.

/ specifications

Full specs

18 fields
BrandASUS
ModelROG Maximus Z690 Apex
GenerationLGA1700 600/700-series
Release Year2022
SocketLGA1700
ChipsetZ690
Form FactorATX
RAM TypeDDR5
RAM Slots2
Max RAM Capacity96 GB
Max RAM Speed6400 MHz
PCIe x16 Slots1
M.2 Slots2
SATA Ports6
ThunderboltNot specified
Wi-FiYes
BluetoothNot specified
Warranty (India)3 years ASUS India
/ compatible

DDR5 memory kits

6 options
/ where_to_buy

Where to buy ASUS ROG Maximus Z690 Apex in India

Indicative catalogue range: ₹76,800-84,800 for the ASUS ROG Maximus Z690 Apex. This is not a verified current retailer price. Confirm price and availability with the seller and buy with a proper GST invoice for warranty claims.

In my years running a PC store, PrimeABGB (Mumbai) and Vedant Computers (Kolkata) have also been consistently reliable for verified stock - compare before buying.

/ Deep Dive

ASUS ROG Maximus Z690 Apex Review India — The Overclocking Flagship at ₹83,000

Review context: The prices and retailer mentions below are the recorded July 2026 snapshot, not a fresh price or stock check. This is specifications-based buying advice, not a hands-on benchmark. Exact-model manufacturer reference.

30-Second Version: The ASUS ROG Maximus Z690 Apex (₹80,000-86,000) is a purpose-built extreme overclocking board, not a general-purpose flagship. Two DIMM slots instead of four, a 24+0 teamed power stage VRM, dedicated ProbeIt voltage read points, LN2 Mode, and a design language that prioritizes frequency headroom over feature checklists. This is the board serious overclockers buy to chase DDR5 frequency records. For everyone else, including most people running a Core i9-14900K, it's the wrong purchase — the ROG Strix Z690-E Gaming WiFi gets you the everyday connectivity most gaming builds need for ₹30,000 less.

What "Apex" Actually Means at ASUS

Every generation, ASUS puts out one board in the Maximus line whose entire design brief is different from the rest of the ROG stack: less about gaming aesthetics and creature comforts, more about squeezing the absolute maximum frequency and stability out of memory and CPU under extreme conditions. The Z690 Apex is that board for the LGA1700 platform, sitting above the ROG Strix Z690-E Gaming WiFi as the top of ASUS's Z690 hierarchy — Prime, TUF Gaming, ROG Strix, and finally ROG Maximus.

The Apex has two DDR5 DIMM slots, with ASUS currently listing up to 96GB. The layout targets memory overclocking, but attainable speed depends on the CPU, memory kit and BIOS. Check the QVL; a two-slot layout does not guarantee a particular stable frequency.

The VRM Is Built for Sustained Extreme Loads

The Apex advertises 24+0 teamed power stages rated at 105A. Stage ratings cannot be added together to establish a usable CPU power ceiling. GetPC has not measured sustained overclocking or VRM temperatures on this board.

ASUS Z690 Full Lineup — VRM Stages vs India Street Price Prime through Maximus, July 2026 pricing Prime Z690-P D4/WiFi D4 — 14+1 ₹25-26k Prime Z690-A DDR5 — 16+1 ₹30k TUF Gaming Z690-Plus WiFi D4 — 14+1 ₹30k ROG Strix Z690-F Gaming WiFi — 16+1 ₹45k ROG Strix Z690-E Gaming WiFi — 18+1 ₹50k ROG Maximus Z690 Apex — 24+0 ₹83k

The Apex adds specialist overclocking controls. These distinguish its intended use from the Strix models; they do not guarantee repeatable benchmark records or unlimited power delivery.

Overclocking Hardware You Won't Find on Any Strix Board

This is where the Apex earns its price tag, and where it stops making sense for a general builder. ASUS ships genuine extreme-overclocking hardware on this board:

  • ProbeIt voltage read points — physical pins on the PCB that let you clip a multimeter directly onto CPU, memory, and other rail voltages for real-time monitoring, bypassing whatever the BIOS reports.
  • Slow Mode switch — deliberately throttles the CPU multiplier on the fly, used by extreme overclockers to keep a benchmark run alive through a tricky CPU-Z validation screenshot or unstable transition point during a record attempt.
  • Safe Boot and ReTry buttons — dedicated physical buttons that recover from a failed POST after an aggressive overclock without needing to clear CMOS and lose your settings.
  • LN2 Mode jumper — reconfigures cold-boot behavior and voltage regulation specifically for liquid nitrogen cooling setups, where components behave very differently at sub-zero temperatures than at room temperature.
  • Q-Release PCIe slot — a mechanical latch that lets you pull the GPU out without needing to reach the small retention clip, useful when you're swapping cards repeatedly during a benching session.
  • Dual BIOS with BIOS Flashback — recovers from a bad BIOS flash without a working CPU installed, important when you're testing bleeding-edge microcode updates for extra memory frequency headroom.

None of this is invented for marketing — this is the actual toolkit that HWBOT competitors and extreme overclockers use, and ASUS's Apex boards have a long history of appearing in world-record DDR5 frequency runs going back to the Z690 generation's launch. If you don't know what half of that list means, that's not a knock on you, it just tells you this board isn't built with you in mind.

Storage and Connectivity Take a Back Seat

ASUS lists five M.2 sockets in total: two onboard, two on the ROG DIMM.2 module and one on the PCIe 5.0 M.2 card. Installing that card in PCIEX16(G5)_2 reduces the primary GPU slot to x8. WiFi 6E and 2.5G LAN are included. Compare the physical card layout with the Strix E before allocating GPU and storage slots.

The Apex Trade-Off: DIMM Slots vs Max Memory Frequency Fewer slots, shorter traces, higher stable clocks — by design Strix Z690-E (4 DIMM) capacity depends on model/QVL Maximus Z690 Apex (2 DIMM) up to 96GB, kit/BIOS dependent Fewer DIMMs = cleaner signal path = higher stable DDR5 frequency, at the cost of total capacity

Who Actually Buys This in India

Let's be honest about the realistic buyer here, because it's a small group. Extreme overclockers running LN2 or phase-change cooling to chase HWBOT rankings and DDR5 frequency records are the board's actual target audience, and that community in India is genuinely tiny — a handful of enthusiasts, mostly connected to the broader South/Southeast Asian overclocking scene. If that's you, you already know what this board is for and you're not reading this section for convincing.

The larger group who ends up considering this board is builders with a big budget who assume "flagship = best for my i9-14900K gaming rig." That assumption is wrong here specifically. The Apex's 2-DIMM limit is a genuine downside for a normal high-end build — most builders benefit more from 4 DIMMs of DDR5-6000+ at 32-64GB total than from squeezing an extra few hundred MHz out of memory frequency they'll never notice in a game. The ROG Strix Z690-E Gaming WiFi, at roughly ₹30,000 less, gives you a stronger practical feature set — 4 DIMMs and three onboard M.2 sockets — for anything short of competitive overclocking.

India Pricing and Availability

At ₹80,000-86,000 on Flipkart, the Apex sits well above every other Z690 board covered on GetPC, and above most Z790 boards too. This is a low-volume, enthusiast-import-adjacent product in India — expect longer restock times than mainstream boards, and don't assume every regional retailer carries it. If you're set on buying one, check stock at MDComputers and PrimeABGB in addition to Flipkart before committing, since availability windows on niche flagship boards like this can be inconsistent month to month. ASUS's standard 3-year India warranty applies, handled through their service centers in major cities — factor in shipping time for RMA if you're outside a metro.

One more practical note: because the Apex launched for 12th Gen Alder Lake, it also supports 13th and 14th Gen Intel CPUs after a BIOS update, same as every other board in this roundup. If you're buying this specifically to pair with a Core i9-14900K, that combination works fine functionally — the caution here is about whether the Apex's specific trade-offs (2 DIMMs, extreme-OC-first design) suit a gaming-focused build, not about compatibility.

Who Should Buy / Who Should Skip

Buy this if you're an extreme overclocker running sub-zero cooling and chasing benchmark records, you understand what ProbeIt and LN2 Mode are for, and you specifically want a 2-DIMM board optimized for maximum DDR5 frequency.

Skip this if you're building a high-end gaming or workstation PC around a Core i9-13900K or i9-14900K and want the best practical board for that budget — the ROG Strix Z690-E Gaming WiFi delivers more real-world capability (4 DIMMs and a Thunderbolt add-in-card header) for roughly ₹30,000 less. Also skip if you need more than the officially supported 96GB of RAM; the 2-DIMM limit works against you.

Compare against: ASUS ROG Strix Z690-E Gaming WiFi, ASUS ROG Strix Z690-F Gaming WiFi, ASUS ROG Strix Z790-A Gaming WiFi, MSI MPG Z790 Carbon WiFi. Pair with: Core i9-13900K, Core i9-14900K. See our DDR4 vs DDR5 guide, vendor comparison guide, and first build mistakes guide before buying.

/ common_questions

Questions

7 answers
What's the warranty in India for the ASUS ROG Maximus Z690 Apex?
3 years ASUS India. This is the official Indian distributor version, which means full manufacturer warranty support.
What does BIOS Flashback mean and do I need it?
BIOS Flashback lets you update the motherboard's BIOS using only a USB stick - no CPU required. This board has it. It matters when a supported CPU needs a newer BIOS than the one installed. Check the exact model's CPU support list and update procedure.
Why does the Apex only have 2 RAM slots when every other Z690 board has 4?

It's a deliberate design choice for extreme overclocking. Fewer DIMM slots mean shorter, cleaner signal traces on the PCB, which allows higher stable memory frequencies — important for overclockers chasing DDR5 frequency records. It comes at the cost of total memory capacity.

Is the Maximus Z690 Apex worth it for a normal gaming build with a Core i9-14900K?

Generally no. The ROG Strix Z690-E Gaming WiFi covers the practical needs of a high-end gaming build for about ₹30,000 less, with 4 DIMM slots and a Thunderbolt add-in-card header the Apex doesn't prioritize.

Do I need LN2 cooling to buy this board?

No, it runs fine with air or AIO cooling. But if you're not using extreme cooling, you're not accessing the specific advantages (LN2 Mode, ProbeIt, extreme memory frequency headroom) that justify its price over a Strix board.

Does the Apex support 13th and 14th Gen Intel CPUs?

Yes, after a BIOS update, same as the rest of ASUS's Z690 lineup. It's fully compatible with Core i9-13900K and Core i9-14900K.

Where can I buy the ROG Maximus Z690 Apex in India?

Confirmed at Flipkart at ₹80,000-86,000. Check MDComputers and PrimeABGB for stock as well, since this is a lower-volume enthusiast board with less consistent availability than mainstream Z690 boards.

Spotted something wrong on this page?